Interview with Monica Enderle

1.Hello, Monica! Can you tell us something about you and your book „Girl under glass”?

Hi, Laura, thank you for inviting me to your blog. I’m excited to get to know you and your readers.15778636
I live in Seattle, Washington, with my husband and six-year-old daughter. I have an English literature degree from the University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA), and I’ve worked in the publishing, advertising, film, and internet production fields. But writing science fiction and fantasy for adults is my passion.

My first novel, Girl Under Glass, was a 2012 Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award semi-finalist, and is a post-apocalyptic love story. It’s set in the American Pacific Northwest and opens twelve years after an alien apocalypse has destroyed 98% of the Earth’s population. The story is about a medic, Rachel Pryne, whose seven-year-old daughter, Pearl, is threatened by the leader of their rural community. In order to protect Pearl, Rachel puts her trust in an enemy – one of the alien warriors who conquered Earth. But Rachel soon learns that her own life is threatened and that she is important not only to her daughter’s survival, but to the continued existence of the remaining inhabitants of Earth and the aliens, too.

64529512. When have you decided that you want to be a writer?

My mother, Judith Ross Enderle, is a well-published children’s author, so writing has been in my life since I was a child. But I didn’t start my own writing career until three years ago. Something about becoming a mother kicked my creativity into high gear.

3. Where do you find your inspiration for your novels? (If it’s not a secret) Have you ever found it in your real life?

I usually challenge myself when I start a new project. I’m inspired by new genres, new points of view, and unusual situations, things I read in the news, conversations I overhear or have with friends or family or strangers. As for real life inspiring my writing, I don’t think I could have written Girl Under Glass before I became a mother. Rachel’s fear for her daughter’s safety, and her willingness to make any sacrifice to protect her, wouldn’t have been so real and powerful for me and readers before my own daughter was born. Having a child changed me and that’s reflected in my writing.

4. Does any of your fictional character ressembles you?

The way Rachel shows her emotions so openly, her blunt honesty, and her fierce protectiveness definitely are reflections of me as a woman and a mother.

5. Wich book is the first one that you’ve read?

Hmm, that’s tough. I remember reading the Curious George books and Dr. Seuss books, A LOT!

6. Do you have a favorite book?

I have a range of favorite authors, from William Shakespeare to Robert Heinlein, from Anne McCaffrey to the Brontës.

7. If you were about to leave in a trip wich book would you take with you?

Aside from my current work-in-progress? The Complete Works of William Shakespeare.

8. Tell us one thing you’d like to change at people from nowadays.

I wish people would be more patient with each other and themselves. (I wish this about myself, as well.)

9. Is there a moment in your life you’d like to live again?

No. I used to spend a lot of time looking back, but now I prefer to look forward. Change is good.

10.Do you have a message for romanian readers? Why would you recommend your book?

I hope your readers will enjoy Girl Under Glass as both a love story and as a novel that makes them think and question. This book is about two people learning to love each other and themselves, even when they come from very different cultures. Because, ultimately, we’re all the same inside.

Thank you so much Monica for accepting this interview !

12 responses

  1. imi place foarte mult acest interviu …imi pare o autoare sincera si calda …i like …

    Decembrie 5, 2012 la 2:05 pm

    • iulia

      Si mie,pare foarte detreaba!

      Decembrie 24, 2012 la 5:54 pm

  2. apropo ca acum am observat foarte dragutz aspectul cel nou al blogului ..imi place la nebunie in special renii aceia

    Decembrie 5, 2012 la 2:06 pm

    • ioana alexandra

      si mie imi place foarte mult noul aspect al blogului
      ador culoarea albastru si se potriveste perfect cu aceasta perioada
      si imi mai place si floricica albastra:X

      Decembrie 7, 2012 la 4:35 pm

  3. Deci stateam sa privesc coperta cartii e asa in ton cu sarbatorile ce urmeaza …parca detroneaza ploaia de care are parte oraselul meu in aceste momente ..e superba ..desi coperta duce un pic cu daca as ramane sau ceva asemanator …

    Decembrie 5, 2012 la 2:54 pm

  4. ioana alexandra

    e prima oara cand aud de cartea aceasta
    coperta e foarte draguta, iar interviul imi place mult

    Decembrie 7, 2012 la 4:33 pm

  5. Radu

    Imi place interviul.

    Decembrie 9, 2012 la 11:00 am

  6. Ale

    Nu am mai auzit de cartea asta pana acum, dar am citit cu atentie ce a povestit autoarea despre carte, si pare foarte interesanta, poate pe viitor o voi citii.

    Decembrie 10, 2012 la 5:26 pm

    • iulia

      Nici eu,dar cine stie,poate in viitor…

      Decembrie 24, 2012 la 5:55 pm

      • da ..in curand …sunt multe carti frumoase, dar parca prea multe fantastice

        Decembrie 24, 2012 la 6:39 pm

  7. Ale

    P.S.: I used to spend a lot of time looking back, but now I prefer to look forward. Asta incerc sa fac eu de la un timp si sunt mandra de mine, chiar imi reuseste:X

    Decembrie 10, 2012 la 5:30 pm

  8. Da e un citat foarte constructiv …mie imi place foarte mult ;))

    Decembrie 11, 2012 la 4:57 am

Lasă un răspuns

