Firefly Book Blog Tour Guest Post Part One

LargeButtonWithAuthorPhoto

Guest Post:

I am so excited that my lovely readers are finally able to read Firefly!  Release day was so magical for me!  It was February 2, 2013, and Firefly officially met the world at The Montgomery County Book Festival.  I sold out of my copies of both Cicada and Firefly, and I felt like a proud mother whose children were going out into the world to leave their mark.  And I hope my books leave a mark on the hearts of my readers, because I’ve written these stories just for them. It took me a year-and-a-half to write Firefly.  I tried to take my time and address issues within my writing that bloggers, reviewers, and readers have shared with me.  For instance, readers asked for Firefly to be longer, so they’d have more to enjoy.  Firefly has 508 pages!  Readers wanted to get to know the characters better, and so I built upon the foundations in Cicada.  I treasure those folks, because they cared enough about my little book and me to share their kind, heart-felt reviews with me. And so I wanted to give something back to them for all they’d given me.  I hope they’ll be happy with Firefly.  It is a labor of love from me to my readers. Like my writing routine for Cicada, I created a great inspiration playlist to listen to while daydreaming Firefly. Readers can check out my Firefly Inspiration Playlist and get a feel of the moods and background music for much of the book by clicking here.  These songs helped me to set the mood in many of the scenes in this book and also helped to momentum in the story. I simply cannot wait for readers to dig into Firefly and she what’s going on between the gorgeous covers of this book!  LB, my book cover designer (and my lovely daughter!) and I spent a long time working on the cover.  We went from an image of a girl in a blue dress under the moon to a girl immersed in purple shadows. However, when I saw the face, glowing green from underneath her skin, looking back at me from LB’s computer monitor, I knew she was the right face to present this book to the world.  I’m very pleased with all the elements LB put on the cover, because each one is linked to an element of the story within the covers.  Even today, I cannot stop stroking the cover of Firefly and whisper “my precious…” Don’t you agree that both the front and back of this cover is lovely?734515_502093173175384_32554232_n Unfortunately, writing isn’t the only thing I do throughout the day.  I look forward to the day when I can support myself solely on my writing.  Until then, I have a full-time job I work at during the day.  Coffee helps get me going in the morning.  I can’t make it through the day without it.  Well, I could, but I would be a grumpy hag! LOL!  So, for the sake of others, I make sure to administer a healthy dose of coffee every morning.  Most mornings, I get that fix at my Mom’s when I stop by to see her first thing before work.  But there are some days when I make a trip to Starbucks and get a steamy, chocolately, creamy Cafe Mocha Latte.  It’s my favorite drink at Starbucks, and it gives me a nice jolt awake! My writing really takes place throughout the day as I make it through my day job.  I sort of live half-in-half-out of the daydream of my story until I write the last sentence.  So, I observe the scenes unfold in my mind throughout the day until I get home and put them down on paper.  It’s the only way I know how to cope with not being able to write all day long. After writing in the evenings, I spend a little time with my doggie, Sascha Marie.  She likes to lounge on my lap as I hold her like a baby and pat her belly.  It’s really the only time she’s ever quiet and still.  All the rest of the time, she’s playful and rambunctious.  In fact, she’s done everything in her doggie power tonight to keep me from finishing this post.  But holding her calms her down and gets her ready to snuggle down into her doggie pillow for the night. When I finally snuggle down into bed at night, I sometimes dream of Cicada and Firefly being made into a movie.  I know it’s crazy, but it’s a fantasy of mine.  And that’s the time when I go through my list of favorite actors who could play my characters. One of the biggest joys of writing fiction is getting to know the characters as they form themselves into personalities that seem real and almost tangible. Once a writer has gotten to the point that his/her characters are more than fiction on the page, finding an actor or actress who could fill their shoes is like searching for treasure.  Wanna see who I’d choose to play the roles of my characters? Drum roll…….

Blair Reynolds: Amanda Seyfriedamanda_seyfried_iii_by_nessasotto-d3a3a7q Blair, the main character and narrator of Cicada, is very intelligent. She is the kind of person that observes people and happenings around her and evaluates the situation. She is a thinker, yet also a doer. Above all, Blair is loyal and brave and loves with the ferocity of a lion. Amanda Seyfried would be an excellent choice to fill Blair’s shoes. She resembles Blair in appearance, temperament, and mannerisms a great deal. And her voice is very similar to Blair’s, too!

Andrew (and the memory of Aaron): Zac EfronZac-Efron-zac-efron-17011468-967-1450Andrew, Blair’s surviving big brother, is one of those souls who is loved and respected by everyone. He’s got that All-American charismatic appeal, and he is a genuinely nice guy. Andrew is very protective of his little sister Blair and their mom. After losing his twin brother Aaron and their father, he turned to religion to deal with the pain and loss. Zac Efron would be an excellent actor to fill the part of Andrew, because he’s got that same good-guy persona and really looks a lot like Andrew’s character.

Everett: Josh Hutchersonjosh-hutcherson-164073lEverett Forster, loved by all–readers and fellow characters alike! He is probably the most loved character by my readers. And I’m not surprised. Everett is super-loyal and brilliant! He begins the story as the typical nerd and ends as a sexy hunk! Not only is Everett the best friend of Blair, but he’s also her true love. He would go to any lengths to protect her. And he does, almost to the point of paying the ultimate price. Josh Hutcherson would be a terrific actor to play the part of Everett.

David: Kellan Lutzkellan-lutz-sweet-smileDavid Hargrave, high school sports star, is Andrew’s best friend and Natalie’s boyfriend. David is huge, strong, and straight forward. He doesn’t have a lot to say, but when he says it, he means it. David is handsome, blonde, with blue eyes. And he’s definitely got Andrew’s back. He helped Andrew get through the loss of his brother and father. And he loves his girlfriend with his whole being. Kellan Lutz is a good fit as David. He’s big, strong, and good looking!

Natalie: Lucy Hale hot-lucy-haleNatalie is David’s true love. We don’t really know much about Natalie’s family or even her last name. What we do know is that she wants to be a kindergarten teacher after she graduates from college. But the most important thing to Natalie is to marry David and have children. Beautiful Natalie was a high school cheerleader and homecoming queen. She and Blair were not necessarily friends in high school, but their friendship grows as the story unfolds. Lucy Hale looks very much like Natalie and would be a very good actor to fill her part.

Grandpa: Sam ElliotSam ElliotGrandpa is actually based on my dear father, whom I love and miss dearly. He is protective of his family…and family is the most important thing to him in the world. Grandpa is a large animal veterinarian and has a clinic on his ranch where he has trained Blair to work with animals so that she can take over the clinic one day. Grandpa has played a huge role in Blair’s and Andrew’s lives since the loss of their father. Sam Elliot really looks and sounds like Grandpa. He would be perfect for the part!

Grandma: Gena Rowlands220px-Gena_Rowlands_1992Grandma is the typical grandmother. She loves her two surviving grandchildren with all her heart, and she’s very close to her daughter, Blair’s mom, who is an only child. We don’t know a lot about Grandma, except she likes to cook and entertain at the ranch. And she’d do anything for her family. Grandma seems meek and mild. But we might find out there’s a different side to Grandma before it’s all over with! The lovely Gena Rowlands would be a wonderful actress to fill the part of Grandma.

Mom: Gillian Andersongillian-anderson-gillian-anderson-20037364-1783-2560Mom owns a bakery called Sprinkles. She works long hours and loves her children very much. She’s been a single mom since she lost her husband and lives with a broken heart beating in her chest. Mom has secrets, and to tell too much more here about Mom would give away spoilers. Gillian Anderson looks almost identical to Mom. She would be an excellent choice for the part!

Dad (the memory of him): Daniel Craigdaniel-craig1Dad was an explorer and had served in the military during Desert Storm, before Andrew and Blair were born. Dad loved Mom very much. They were soul-mates. Daniel Craig is a dead ringer for Dad! Oh!  What’s that you say?  You think I’ve forgotten Ash, haven’t you?  Well, how could I possibly forget such a mysteriously charming, hot and sexy guy like him?  I haven’t found just the right actor who could fill his shoes.  But I think Ian Somerhalder might be a pretty close fit in charm if not more! What do you think?ian-somerhalder-Photoshoot-Promocional-lost-18293149-792-1000 I just happened to think about the twitter movie night we are having during the tour.  Are you going to participate?  If so, here’s the link where you can vote on which movie we’ll watch together.  Throughout the movie, LB and I will live tweet with you all.  It’s sure to be a lot of fun!  Here’s the link to the voting form:  http://tinyurl.com/BBMovieNight EggBannerSpeaking of Twitter… I found out my characters have been tweeting each other!  I was able to capture a small portion of their tweets to share with you all.  This is an old conversation.  You can read a more recent twitter conversation later in the blog tour.

@BugDoc (Everett F.)

@Equestrian (Blair R.)

@AndrewR (Andrew R.)

@WillisWildKat (David H.)

@CheerGirl (Natalie)

@Sprinkles (Mom)

AndrewR: @BugDoc @Equestrian @WillisWildKat @CheerGirl Burgers at the Sonic in 1 hr?

WillisWildKat: @AndrewR Sounds good to me. I’ll be the one in the cement truck!

Equestrian: @AndrewR Can u pick me up from Grandpa’s?

BugDoc: @AndrewR I’ll walk over from work. Give me a ride home ltr?

AndrewR: @BugDoc No prob. Gotta pick up @Equestrian at the ranch

CheerGirl: @AndrewR  Meet y’all there!

WillisWildKat: @CheerGirl Need a ride, babe?

CheerGirl: @WillisWildKat Sorry…gotta pick up cap and gown. Have 2 meet u there😦

Sprinkles: Sweeten your morning with Sprinkles! Pick up two-for-one cupcakes tomorrow!

BugDoc: @AndrewR @Equestrian @WillisWildKat @CheerGirl I’m here at the Sonic. I’ll hold our fave stall.

Equestrian: @BugDoc We’re almost there, Bug Boy!

CheerGirl: @BugDoc: @AndrewR @Equestrian @WillisWildKat Be there in five mins

AndrewR: @WillisWildKat Dude! That truck is HUGE!

BugDoc: @AndrewR @WillisWildKat That’s perfect to hide the bodies with instead of throwing them in the lake! ROFLMAO!

CheerGirl: @BugDoc  Don’t be stupid! >:-/

WillisWildKat: Omnomnom… Good burger…

AndrewR @WillisWildKat: WTF were those things, dude?

WillisWildKat @AndrewR:  No idea.  Gotta go get a new bat, tho.  Tore mine up on ‘em!

AndrewR @WillisWildKat: Did U bury it in the woods?

WillisWildKat @AndrewR:  Ain’t nobody finding it.

CheerGirl @Equestrian: How is he doing?

Equestrian @CheerGirl: Bad. Really bad.  

Sprinkles: We are closed until further notice.  So sorry to miss you all for coffee in the mornings.

CheerGirl @Equestrian: Where did all the fire come from?

Equestrian @CheerGirl: Don’t know.  Haven’t left hospital N days.  What’s going on?

AndrewR @Equestrian: Hang tight, sis.  On my way 2 hospital 2 give you a break.

WillisWildKat @Equestrian @AndrewR @CheerGirl: Me and Natalie R coming 2.

Equestrian @Wildkat @CheerGirl @Andrew: Will do him good for y’all 2 see him.

AndrewR @Equestrian: Has he woke up yet?

Equestrian @AndrewR: No. But there R some things I need 2 tell U when U get here.

CheerGirl @Equestrian: See U soon.  Bringing U a chocolate shake.❤

 

Thank you so much for having me over for a cappuccino and a chat!  It’s been wonderful getting to know you and your readers!  I hope y’all will stop by any or all of my social networking sites and say “howdy” sometime!  I love hearing from readers, and I always respond.

SmallButton

7 responses

  1. Thank you, Lovely Laura!❤
    ~Belle

    Martie 21, 2013 la 6:21 pm

  2. imi plac actorii alesi de tine ian ..arata delicios acolo;))

    Aprilie 8, 2013 la 4:37 am

  3. cine e actrița din prima poză? îmi pare cunoscută

    Aprilie 29, 2013 la 10:52 am

  4. Denisa

    jumatate din actorii mei preferati:Xii ador

    Mai 2, 2013 la 6:02 am

  5. Iaaaaaaaaan. M-am oprit la el!! E fantastic şi bun şi aaaaaaaa =p~ Superbe poze, actorii sunt superbi. Pe mulţi nu-i cunosc, dar unii îmi par cunoscuţi.

    Mai 29, 2013 la 6:28 pm

    • Am aceeasi senzatie ca tine, nu ma pot abtine :)) E prea frumos!

      Iunie 4, 2013 la 5:17 am

  6. Superbe alegeri❤ Sii, ai lasat cireasa de pe tort la urma? Iannnn e asa odododo. Mi-am dat pe apa sambetei 5 minute din invatatul la chimie doar ca sa ma holbesz la el.

    Iunie 4, 2013 la 5:15 am

Lasă un răspuns

