Interview with Stephanie Keyes, author of The Fallen Stars

Thank you so much for hosting me today, Laura! It’s great to be back here at Lucky Books.

1. Can you tell us something about you and your series ?

Sure! My name is Stephanie Keyes. I live in the US and I am addicted to music, chocolate, my kids, and reading, always reading. I’ve been married to my real-life hero for eleven and a half years and he’s my best friend. My series is The Star Child series and it’s a trilogy about a prodigious seventeen-year-old who finds himself pulled into a world of Celtic prophecy and subterfuge. He has no powers or real talent beyond being super-smart. Basically, he has to save the world with his brain.

the-fallen-stars-by-stephanie-keyes-12. When have you decided that you want to be a writer?

I’ve always made up stories as long as I can remember. I don’t think there was a time when I wasn’t writing. I got really serious about it when I started with the first Star Child book. That was the first time I wrote a male character and I really related to that sort of direct approach.

3. Where do you find your inspiration for your novels? (If it’s not a secret) Have you ever found it in your real life?

No, it’s not a secret. Pictures and places have the biggest impact on me. For example, the first book was set in Ireland, where I’ve traveled extensively. Book two takes place mostly in Bar Harbor, Maine, where I spent part of my honeymoon. I have this thing about wanting to write about places I’ve visited.

4. Do any of your fictional characters resemble you?

Kellen! Kellen is probably me, as a guy. He approaches everything very direct and from a logical perspective. However, he’s a hopeless romantic and can be emotional at times. We also share a love of Snickers, Pepsi, and Eighties stuff.

5. Which book is the first one that you’ve read?

I’m probably dating myself, but I honestly can’t remember the first book I read!

6. Do you have a favorite book?

Dozens. I love The Chronicles Of Faerie series by O.R. Melling. She’s a tremendous talent.

7. If you were about to leave in a trip which book would you take with you?

Any of the Harry Potter series. However, I’m really getting into The Caster Chronicles. I’ve read book one and really look froward to the rest.

8. Tell us one thing you’d like to change at people from nowadays.

Negativity. I see this so much on the Internet and Social Media. People criticizing one another, being rude, making fun of one another… I have a simple rule that I try and follow all the time: „Be Nice”. If we were all a little nicer to one another…what could be bad about that?

9. Is there a moment in your life you’d like to live again?

No. I appreciate the past, I enjoy it, cherish it. However, to quote Albus Dumbledore in Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone, „It does not do to dwell on dreams and forget to live.”

10. Do you have a message for Romanian readers? Why would you recommend your book?

Yes! If you read a book and love it, tell a friend and spread the word. I would recommend my books because they are about ordinary people who get to do extraordinary things. What could be better than that?

20 responses

  1. Coperta aceasta este luată după e ușor să te iubesc …seamănă..

    Mai 3, 2013 la 7:50 pm

    • Sunt de acord. Dar poate ca E usor sa te iubesc s-a luat dupa cartea asta!

      Mai 6, 2013 la 12:19 pm

    • Raluca

      Sunt aceleasi persoane dar pozele sunt diferite.

      Mai 11, 2013 la 1:51 pm

    • Andreea

      Pai,sunt aceleasi personaje.Pacat…

      Iunie 8, 2013 la 11:28 am

  2. Denisa

    a dreptate…de cate ori o vad imi aduce aminte de „e usor sa te iubesc”

    Mai 4, 2013 la 1:18 pm

  3. Denisa

    imi place mult interviul…ti-a iesit bine

    Mai 4, 2013 la 1:18 pm

  4. Este acelasi tip de pe coperta. Frumos interviu . Am si eu un magnet de frigider cu aceasta carte:))

    Mai 5, 2013 la 10:42 am

    • vreau si eu un magnet :)) eu am doar cu legume si fructe =))

      Mai 5, 2013 la 10:54 am

      • eu am unu cu titlul unei cărți străine mie

        Mai 6, 2013 la 6:27 am

      • Romina Gianina

        Nu-ti dau tie nimic :))

        Iunie 3, 2013 la 1:29 pm

    • Ei …cred că stă frumos acolo .

      Mai 5, 2013 la 1:54 pm

    • Andreea

      Da,interesant.De unde l-ai luat??

      Iunie 8, 2013 la 12:59 pm

  5. Imi place cartea…mai ales coperta este foarte draguta🙂 frumos interviu

    Mai 5, 2013 la 10:53 am

  6. awesome!!!!!Imi plac la nebunie interviurile cu autori, sa aflu si eu cum au ajuns autori celebrii! si mie imi place ciocolata, muzica si cititul!

    Mai 6, 2013 la 12:18 pm

  7. Raluca

    Imi plac interviurile cu autori. Asa aflam si noi mai multe despre ei si povestea care se afla in spatele cartilor.

    Mai 11, 2013 la 1:49 pm

  8. Superbă copertă! Şi mie îmi seamănă puţin cu „E uşor să te iubesc”, dar nu cred că e vorba de o plagiere. Poate doar de puţină inspiraţie sau pur şi simplu, coincidenţă.
    Frumos interviul, mi se pare grozav să avem şi noi oportunitatea de a şti câte ceva despre autorii cărţilor noastre preferate.

    Mai 30, 2013 la 7:34 am

  9. Nu este nici plagiere si nici coincidenta. Sunt aceleasi persoane ca pe coperta „E usor sa te iubesc”.

    Iunie 7, 2013 la 8:26 pm

  10. Andreea

    Nu pot sa cred.Are aceeasi coperta cu „Easy” by Tammara Webber.Oricum,interviul e foarte frumos!!Felicitari!!

    Iunie 8, 2013 la 11:27 am

  11. și tocmai de aceea creează confuzie în rândul cititorilor .Poate că cele două modele au fost foarte bine plătite

    Iunie 8, 2013 la 12:27 pm

Lasă un răspuns

