Interview with Jen Minkman author of Shadow of Time

1. Can you tell us something about you and your book Shadow of Time ?

I’m an author from the Netherlands and Shadow of Time is the first book I wrote. After finding a publisher for it in Holland, I translated the book into English and published it on Amazon myself. It is set in Navajo Nation in Arizona, US, but I have never been there myself yet! I will visit this summer.

2. When have you decided that you want to be a writer?

I don’t think it’s a thing you decide. I have always written stories – I couldn’t stop myself! However, when I finished writing Shadow of Time I ‘decided’ to send the manuscript to publishers and try to get a book deal, so that’s why I thought there might actually be a possibility to make a career out of it.

3. Where do you find your inspiration for your novels? (If it’s not a secret) Have you ever found it in your real life?

Well, because I mostly write romantic books, I get a lot of inspiration from my own love life (I’m happily married), but also movies, other books, the world around me… sometimes all it takes is the tiny seed of an idea that somehow lodges in my brain and starts to grow into something that could be a novel. And I can’t seem to stop it! I don’t even have enough time to write all the books I have in me, and it gets frustrating at times!

4. Do any of your fictional characters resemble you?

Haha🙂 Guilty as charged. Hannah (the main character) is actually a lot like me in that she is very shy around guys. She also plays the guitar (me too) and writes her own music (me too). The characters in my other books are also kind of like me, but I’ve tried to use different ‘shades of me’ so readers don’t get the feeling I’m always using the same characters!

5. Which book is the first one that you’ve read?

I don’t remember. I could read when I was three, so it’s too long ago!

6. Do you have a favorite book?

Once again, I’ve read books for a verrrry long time, so I don’t have one favourite. Ray Bradbury’s books and Stefan Zweig’s books feature in my top ten, though, and I also like romantic, paranormal & dystopian stories very much!

7. If you were about to leave in a trip which book would you take with you?

I would take my Kindle… (hey, that’s cheating!). I guess I would take Long After Midnight by Ray Bradbury, because it’s full of short stories, so I’ll have more to read in a sense than by just taking one novel!

8. Tell us one thing you’d like to change at people from nowadays.

In Holland? People should be less stressful and not so individualistic, but more interested in each other. In general: people should realise that the Earth is not there to consume freely and that animals should not be abused. I believe people have lost respect for the world that we live in and think we somehow own it, but we don’t.

9. Is there a moment in your life you’d like to live again?

I’d like to re-live my wedding🙂 I was so nervous at the time I hardly recall some of the things that were said and done!

10. Do you have a message for Romanian readers? Why would you recommend your book?

I have quite a few Romanian followers on Facebook and I can recommend Shadow of Time to them if they like truly romantic books where it’s not just about physical attraction, but also about friendship, destiny, history… a bigger picture, so to speak. I have never visited Romania but I’d love to visit someday! And I would love for my book to be published in Romania; rest assured I’m trying to find an agent to sell my foreign rights this year.

11 responses

  1. Hm, o carte destul de interesantă din câte am citit acum . O fată care are vise ciudate, coșmaruri chiar, iar unele par a fi premoniții. Îmi place ceea ce vrea să scoată în relief autoarea . Iar relația Hannei cu Josh pare interesantă.Sunt curioasă în ceea ce privește cartea asta, iar interviul îl ador, mă bucur să te revăd pe aici .
    De asemenea imi place și răspunsul acela în care spune că nu este ceva ce să decizi sau un moment anume în care să te decizi să devii scriitor .Îmi place acest autor. E simpatic plus că se recomandă a fi un romantic oare ?

    Iunie 3, 2013 la 1:17 pm

    • Andreea

      Eu am auzit de carte de pe Goodreads si chiar e foarte interesanta.

      Iunie 8, 2013 la 12:52 pm

      • O caut si eu acum , nu stiam ca e si acolo…

        Iunie 13, 2013 la 3:27 pm

  2. Romina Gianina

    Arata mult mai bine a doua versiune a copertii . Mi-ar placea s-o citesc

    Iunie 3, 2013 la 1:27 pm

    • Romina Gianina

      am vrut sa intru la postul cu Shadow of Time :)) scuze

      Iunie 3, 2013 la 1:28 pm

    • Dap a doua chiar arata mult mai bine🙂

      Iunie 13, 2013 la 3:26 pm

  3. Vă mulțumesc pentru comentarii frumos! Dacă puteți citi în limba engleză, puteți cumpăra această carte de la Amazon. Acesta nu este disponibil în limba română încă, scuze!

    Iunie 3, 2013 la 1:52 pm

  4. Mi se pare o carte interesantă şi autoarea m-a convins. Frumos interviu, în special întrebarea 9 şi răspunsul ei. :)))

    Iunie 3, 2013 la 5:39 pm

  5. Imi place foarte mult constructia interviului. Felicitari Lucky si multumim!

    Iunie 4, 2013 la 12:30 pm

  6. Andreea

    Imi place foarte mult cartea,iar intrebarile sunt interesante.Felicitari!!

    Iunie 8, 2013 la 11:21 am

  7. Imi place cartea, felicitari :*

    Iunie 13, 2013 la 3:25 pm

Lasă un răspuns

